Confusion over our true position in Life brings suffering… new MJ Awakening Blog

light shining on chair

Confusion over our true position in Life brings suffering. Everything is an object to You. If you see a chair, you somehow understand that you are not the chair. Chair is an object to You. Same with a tree, or a mountain, or the sky or a bird or a river. But what is missed (and yet makes ALL the difference!) is that YOUR BODY IS ALSO AN OBJECT TO YOU!!!

If you are your body, then what is observing, aware of, or knows of “your body”??? Is it not the same “thingless thing” that observes, is aware of, or knows of the existence of the chair?

What is it that “knows” ANYTHING???

What “Knows” is not knowable. Why? Because it’s NOT an object.

So now the “cause” of my suffering is finally revealed: I am identifying, taking myself to be my body. And so, when body character wants something, I mistakenly believe I want it!? And when it doesn’t get it, I suffer because I believe I am the body character. And when it does get something it wants, I feel momentary pleasure. But it never lasts.

Become STILL and observe your body and any accompanying thoughts, feelings, memories or sensations that may be presently arising.

Q: If you can see them, be aware of them, know of them, can they REALLY, TRULY be You???

Michael Jeffreys

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

