“I was wondering if you had any advice on depression and anxiety?” -facebook question

depressionQ: “Hi Michael, thanks so much for the friendship. I was wondering if you had any advice on depression and anxiety? Should I just feel the depressed and anxious feelings or should I try to do something else to make them better? Many days I wake up feeling depressed and don’t know why. I am wondering what else to do to find peace with this… Thanks”

A: Hi …, Having suffered from chronic depression for most of my life, I know of what you speak.

For me, the only thing that really worked was seeing clearly that there was no “me” that the depression was happening to. Yes, there was the feeling of depression, but when I looked i couldn’t actually find anyone it was happening to. The “me” that was taking it personally was simply a tightly held assumption that had never really been investigated. And this belief was the main cause of suffering, not the actual depression itself which was just impersonal energy that would come and go by itself, i.e., not under my control (because there was no me!).

Once this was seen, I stopped giving depression my attention, and it just sort of went away on its own. Not all at once, for like an unplugged fan it still had a certain momentum. But eventually the light within got brighter and brighter until it was seen that there was something in me that never takes anything personally. And I simply rested as THAT, which has been here all along.

Hope this helps!

-Michael

2 Responses

  1. I was speaking of this just today with my spiritual coach (I know we are all spiritual, of course.) He spoke about facing the despair (first). The more it remains underground, the deeper the depression. That does not mean to wallow in it, it’s just not avoiding it. . Then, come back to now, this present moment Even if planning (which I am doing)I’m doing that in the now and not from fear. The universe really does support me and I see that clearly with synchronicity ,, a phone call that responds to my current desire,, expressing my creativity (writing) which always reveals that something much larger than myself is moving my hand because I’ll see the words on the page and: what? I didn’t know I was going to write that. Ah, the insight.” And,, no matter what, to truly know who I am. Those are not just words: I have been had breakthroughs where my ego dissolved and in that silence I felt peace, and so much more and I knew. Also, in that silence, I realize I was waking to an even deeper remembering. So, yes, for me too depression and/or anxiety and then..(.see above.) Thank you, Michael

  2. Although the way you dealt with depression was the same as mine, Michael (which helped me tremendously too), recently I came across some renewed old information about the actual physical causes of depression. I decided to implement this information and all signs of depression are completely gone! I wasn’t paying attention to depression anymore beforehand, but after changing my diet (mainly) I realized how much depression still was present and affecting me. You can read a bit more about it here: http://www.prevention.com/health/health-concerns/link-between-inflammation-pain-and-depression

Leave a Reply

