The Ego prefers Suffering over Nothing

holy shit, don't even know what to call this!

One thing I’ve noticed about those who are “awakened” is that they realize that they haven’t a clue as to who/what they are and are completely comfortable and fully at peace with this. In fact, they often report feeling a great “burden” lifted off their shoulders, as the weight of carrying around a false and heavy identity falls away. They realize that they can function fine, in fact even better, be more present, etc., when “they” are no where to be found!

However, for the vast majority, the fear of the unknown is so terrifying, and the GUILT and SELF-LOATHING so great, that they would (mostly unconsciously) rather hang on to their victim story (I’m depressed, I’m sad, I’m anxious, I’m lonely, Nobody loves me, etc.) than let it go and be free. Yes, clinging to this self-made identity feels absolutely horrible and painful, but at least I know who I am…. after all, it’s a story I am very familiar with.

Being nothing? Forget it says the ego.

-Michael Jeffreys

//

5 Responses

  1. Very true! Thank you, Michael. Keep up the good work. Love, Stephan

    • Thank you Stephan!

      • I was terrified of the void. Every time I approached it, I would pull back or do anything to avoid falling into the void. I was afraid that I would disappear and never find my way back. Now that I realize that I am the void, it is a huge relief.

  2. One is more comfortable than zero, even when it’s negative. As you’ve pointed out at the Meetups, the victim is also a powerful identity and hard to sacrifice for the unknown. But letting go and being nothing means “being the scientist”, dropping assumptions and seeing directly what is, and unfolds. Nice piece.

    • “One is more comfortable than zero, even when it’s negative.” What observes or is aware of this “one”?

Leave a Reply

