Ultimately, Nothing Means Anything

One way to truly see that ultimately, nothing means anything, is to keep asking yourself, “And that means what?” Do this over and over.

For example, take the thought, “I am depressed.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “I feel tired and sad.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “I am not being productive… I am being lazy.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “I need to earn a living.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “Without income, I could end up homeless.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “I could suffer on the streets and possibly die.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “I won’t exist anymore.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “Well, people would miss me.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “They will be sad that I am gone.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “I don’t want them to be sad.” Ask, “And that means what?” Mind: “Uh… hmmmm………” 🙂

The key is to take it as far as you can until you realize that at some point, nothing inherently means anything. Which means (there ya go) that anything that has meaning to you only has apparent or relative meaning. Meaning (there ya go again!) it is not absolutely true, but only has whatever meaning the mind is temporarily giving it in the moment. Ultimately, nothing means anything. What do I mean by this? Nothing.

-Michael Jeffreys

One Response

  1. Brilliant! ^_^

Leave a Reply

