The Dream is Without a Dreamer

 

This morning I dreamed I had overslept and missed my chess class (which I teach at several schools). In the dream I woke up and looked at the clock and it said 2:40pm… (A thought informed me that my class starts at 1:50pm, so the next thought informed me that I had overslept and missed it!) In the dream, I kept blinking my eyes to re-check the clock to make sure I was reading it correctly… and I was! A thought informed me that the clock said 2:40pm for sure. And I couldn’t believe it… I had missed my chess class asserted a thought….

Suddenly, OUT OF NOWHERE, I found myself awake a thought informed me! Now, THIS, a new world suddenly appeared!! This new world “claimed” via thought that I had just awoken from sleep and was now experiencing the non-dream or “real” world. Once this feeling of, “oh, I was just dreaming” thought registered, I found myself, quite naturally looking at a clock to determine what the actual time was and if I had indeed missed my class. The clock said: 11:30am. “11:30am?!! a thought exclaimed. Next thought: “Oh, I am fine… I hadn’t missed my chess class.

Q: Now I ask you… what is the difference between those two experiences?

A: Both are projections of “the mind,” which means there is no difference. The story of going to sleep, dreaming, and waking up is ALL ONE FLOWING UNBROKEN DREAM.

Much Love,

Michael

p.s. After I wrote the above, I sent it to my friend and fellow teacher Rupert Spira. His take on “reality being a dream of the one” is beautiful:

In a dream six people are sitting around a table having dinner together chatting, each with their own seemingly unique mind. Upon waking waking we realise that the entire content of the dream was the product of one mind, not many.

In the waking state, six people are sitting around a table having dinner together chatting, each with their own seemingly unique Consciousness. Upon ‘waking up’ we realise that the entire content of the evening was the product of one Consciousness, not many.

In the ‘awakened state’ (which is not a state) it is realised that all that is ever experienced is ‘Experiencing’ and Experiencing never comes in contact with anything other than itself. This absence of a separate other is known as love, the absence of a separate object is known as beauty.

In other words, from the point of view of the waking state, there are different states, through which an individual self passes. However, from the point of view of Consciousness, (which is not a point of view) there is only itself, not coming or going, not passing through states, being apparently modulated in all forms of experiencing, such as thinking, feeling, sensing, seeing, hearing etc, being, knowing and loving itself alone.

-Rupert Spira

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

