Was He Ever Really That Mask?

WHO is reading these words? Have a good look. A thought that says, “I am” is NOT an actual entity… it’s just a wispy sound! A feeling that feels like “you” is NOT an actual entity… it’s just the one feeling you are most familiar with and so it seems like you since you’ve known it the longest!

What if the sense of being a separate-self is just a mind-made assumption, but because you have habitually made it “you” your whole life, a part of you is deathly afraid to exist even one moment without it. A lie that I am familiar with is more comforting in some ways than the truth of which is completely unknown to me.

Imagine a 2 yr. old “trick or treater” who never took his Halloween mask off. He’s 46 today… he’s worn the mask for 44 years and so takes himself to be that mask. But, in actuality… was he ever really that mask?

-Michael Jeffreys

3 Responses

  1. Nice one, although this physical form (“me”) seems to feel my identity more as the hidden entity behind the mask, aware that what others react to is not me. It is only in going deeper and discovering that none of it is “me” that freedom occurs.

  2. I am still trying to see beyond this “me”. But I cannot. I ask my self (who is looking?), and realize that, indeed, that “i/me” is not who I am. And I say: “That’s not me! That’s just a thought, a feeling of “I”. After that I realize that event the “THAT’S JUST A THOUGHT” is also a thought apearing in awareness. So.. here comes the question: how can I reach who I really am? When I am staying in awareness (trying to be aware of everything around me), I understand that I am actually the one who perceive all the things (the witness of seeing/hearing/smelling), I am the awareness. But I cannot be aware of myself, I cannot idetify with what I really am. Can you Jeffrey please help me with this? Thank You very much

  3. I don’t know what to say …..

Leave a Reply

