Instead of watching the Academy Awards…

Since I don’t watch TV, no interest in the Academy Awards this evening. Instead, I took a walk for an hour in a nearby park here in LA while listening to an mp3 of a satsang by Jac O’keeffe. She is amazing and one of my favorite teachers!

As I was listening, a homeless guy came up behind me while I was on one of the park paths, and began talking to himself. I could hear his voice through my headphones, even though I was listening to Jac’s talk.

And suddenly, it hit me that his voice sounded just like the voice in my head!! In fact, I asked myself what the difference was between the homeless guy’s voice going on about “blah, blah” and my voice going on about “blah, blah”? And I realized there really wasn’t any difference! Both are just sounds. The words had meaning only because I had been taught that this sound means THIS, while another sound means something else.

The “mistake” we make is that we think there is correlation between the sounds in the head and reality. But there isn’t! You don’t need the sense of “I” (the commentator) to live life. Life is already living life. And you don’t have to do anything other than realize that the voice in the head is not you, meaning you don’t have to try to get rid of it. In fact, trying to get rid of it just enforces the belief in it. If something is not there, how can you get rid of it? In other words, it’s the trying to get rid of a thought or change it that reinforces the belief in it.

-Michael Jeffreys

3 Responses

  1. Yip, there is nothing wrong with any of it!
    May thoughts play as they do. Even believing a thought is also a thought and the believing mechanism adds a reality feel to an idea. There is nothing more going on. Thoughts are perhaps a tad over rated!! – jac

  2. Ditto; trying to ignore a thought/obsession/compulsion only gives a thought strength. That said, how does one get rid of obsessive thoughts? or thoughts of any kind (ie, the no-mind zone)? mb

    • @mb: Yes, trying to get rid of “obsessive thoughts” only strengthens them. Your resistance to them gives them more energy. Fortunately, it is not necessary to get rid of them to experience peace. The “secret” is in accepting the present moment exactly as it is. It’s the ACCEPTANCE of the “obsessive thoughts” that reveals peace, even in the midst of them. The thoughts can’t hurt you… they are just thoughts. You are the awareness that notices them coming and going. Rest in what you are… that which never changes. -Michael

Leave a Reply

